Association of British Orchestras

Orchestra da Camera

Contact details

3 Barnstaple Close Allesley Green Coventry
Orchestra da Camera was founded in 1957 by conductor Brian Priestman (Director of Music at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre,1960-1963), with Kenneth Page as leader, to perform the rich chamber orchestra repertoire. Following the departure of Priestman to take up a conducting post in Canada at the end of 1964, the late Kenneth Page took over as Principal Conductor in addition to the role of Artistic Director. Joined by harpsichordist John Engleheart, they developed links with most of the major choirs and choral societies in the Midlands, many of whom still book the orchestra for their concerts, where a reputation for providing a high degree of co-operation and sensitive accompaniment has been gained. During its long history, Orchestra da Camera has appeared at numerous concert venues and places of worship in the Midlands and beyond, including Birmingham Town Hall, Victoria Hall Hanley, Nottingham’s Albert Hall, Royal Concert Hall and the cathedrals of Worcester, Gloucester, Hereford, Peterborough, Lincoln, St. David’s, Exeter and Coventry. In 1995 Orchestra da Camera was invited to become the orchestra in residence at Loughborough University, having previously held similar posts at the Universities of Aston in Birmingham and Warwick. The orchestra has been fortunate to work with many distinguished soloists and conductors, including Tasmin Little OBE, Craig Ogden, Bryn Terfel, Dame Felicity Lott, Nigel Kennedy, Julian Lloyd-Webber, Emma Johnson, Michael Collins, Michaela Petri, Nicholas Cleobury, Sir David Willcocks, Simon Preston and John Rutter. Educational work is very important to us, and Orchestra da Camera has worked with many schools in educational projects, where composers have been commissioned to write works enabling students to take part in concerts, playing alongside members of the orchestra. Recent projects have included workshops and concerts with Tasmin Little OBE, Craig Ogden and cellist Hans Nygaard (Kontra Quartet - Denmark). Artistic Director and General Manager – Tony Ayres. Chairman – John Spencer OBE

Annual Conference

The next conference will be held in Manchester from 29-31 January 2020,

hosted by The Hallé and BBC Philharmonic