Association of British Orchestras

ABO/RPS Orchestra Player Award

The Salomon Prize was launched in 2011 by the Royal Philharmonic Society and Association of British Orchestras to celebrate the ‘unsung heroes' of orchestral life; the orchestral players that make our orchestras great. The award is named after Johann Peter Salomon, violinist and founding member of the Royal Philharmonic Society in 1813.

Now named the Orchestra Musician Award, the prize is for musicians who play in any orchestra that is a member of the ABO. Each member orchestra may nominate one such player every year. They can be a contracted, freelance or guest player engaged to perform regularly in the orchestra, and should be resident in the UK.

The Award is given each year to a musician who has shown commitment and dedication above and beyond the expected service asked by their orchestra over a single concert season. They will have been "an inspiration to their fellow colleagues and engendered a greater spirit of teamwork within the orchestra". The winner is presented with the Trophy - a soft-ground etching of Salomon made by William Daniell in 1810, sponsored by Selina and David Marks – and a cheque for £1000.

Winners to date

2022 Chris Stock, Principal Percussionist of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales

2021 Beth Higham-Edwards, London Chamber Orchestra & Jamie Hutchinson, Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

2020 Jane Mitchell, Aurora Orchestra

2019 Janet Fulton, Manchester Camerata

2018 David Rimbault, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

2017 Lennox Mackenzie, London Symphony Orchestra

2016 Graham Hall, Sinfonia Viva

2015 John Cushing, Royal Scottish National Orchestra

2014 Catherine Arlidge MBE, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

2013 Roy Benson, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

2012 Beatrice Schirmer, The Hallé

Related information

Further information can be found on the RPS website.

Annual Conference

The next ABO conference will take place in Bristol,
hosted by Bristol Beacon, from 24-26 January 2024.