Association of British Orchestras

ABO Award

The ABO Award is presented annually to the individual or institution considered by the membership to have made the most important contribution to the orchestral life of the UK. The ABO Award is unique among the many prestigious awards and prizes in the music world because its recipient is nominated by the member orchestras themselves.

Recipients have been as follows:

2019/20 The Musicians – the unsung heroes of the sector

2018/19 Carol Colburn Grigor

2017/18 Cathy Graham

2016/17 Marin Alsop

2015/16 Special Awards to Roy McEwan OBE and David Whelton OBE

2015/16 Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE

2014/15 Sally Groves

2013/14 Sir Mark Elder

2012/13 Sir Vernon Ellis

2011/12 Royal Philharmonic Society

2010/11 James MacMillan CBE

2009/10 David Takeno

2008/09 Sir Colin Davis

2008 Special posthumous Award to Vernon Handley CBE

2007/08 Sir Neville Marriner

2006/07 Sir Nicholas Kenyon

2005/06 David Richardson

2004/05 Roger Wright, BBC Radio 3

2003/04 Oliver Knussen

2002/03 Bernard Haitink KBE

2002 Special Award to Libby MacNamara

2001/02 John Wallace

2000/01 Sir Charles Mackerras

1999/00 Edward Smith

1998/99 Gillian Moore MBE

1997/98 Richard Hickox

1996/97 BBC Radio 3

1995/96 Sir Michael Tippett

1994/95 Bill Relton

1993/94 Classic FM

1992/93 Sir John Drummond

1991/92 Sir Simon Rattle

1990/91 Sir Peter Maxwell Davies

Annual Conference

The next ABO conference will take place in Glasgow from 9 – 11 February 2022.